Cacti tip

I’m posting this because even the worker at Home Depot wasn’t aware:

image

Those pretty flowers on top?

image

Nine time out of ten, they’re not real. If you get your plants from Home Depot, like I do, they glue the flowers on to “show what the plants could develop and bloom”. I, for one, think that’s a little bit crap, considering I’ve had to go at my plants with tweezers to remove the dried hot glue.
As you can imagine, its not the best thing to attempt to remove hot glue and fake flowers from a cactus plant with long spikes. I’ve suffered a few stabs trying to remove the imposter flowers. Also, they can damage the plants. My Rainbow hedgehog cactus has small spikes on their body, and upon removing the hot glue, it pulled a lot up. Resulting in a poor bald patch.

Anyway, just be aware and don’t be fooled by the flowers.

Leave a Reply

